Close
Serving
Clay County and Northeast Florida
Call Now 904-264-6000 Criminal Only 904-707-1596 Free Case Consultation

Drug Possession

Control Your Fate. Contact An Experienced Defense Attorney

Drug possession charges might not seem that serious to some people. But if you're convicted of a drug charge, the consequences can be very serious, depending on the type of drug you are accused of possessing and if you have been previously convicted of a similar charge. Florida drug possession lawyer Mark Sieron of Aguilar & Sieron understands the seriousness of these charges. A former prosecutor, attorney Sieron has worked with people in Clay County and throughout the Jacksonville area charged with possessing illegal narcotics. This work has given Mark and his legal team an in-depth understanding of how the legal system works and which strategies often produce positive results. That's why he's eager to meet with you. Simply contact our law firm 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We would be honored to serve your legal needs.

Types of Drug Possession Charges

In Florida, most of the laws regarding drug possession are divided up based on drug type. The amount of certain drugs you had in your possession at the time of your arrest will also determine if you are charged with possession, drug distribution or drug trafficking. The most common drug possession cases we deal with include:

Many other drug possession charges exist in Florida. If you have been charged with possession of a drug not listed above, contact us and schedule an appointment right away. The sooner you know about all the legal options available to you, the better.

What We Can Do For You

Some people assume they can defend themselves if they have been charged with drug possession. You may think you'll be fine if it's the first offense and you did not have a large quantity of the drug you have been charged with possessing. But it's important to consider the legal implications of a drug conviction, even for something as comparatively minor as a first offense. Florida's drug laws are based largely on whether people have been previously convicted of a similar crime. As a result, if you are convicted for a first or second offense, subsequent convictions may carry significantly more serious penalties. That's why we want to meet with you to discuss the details of your case. An experienced attorney can help you by:

  • Requesting your charges be dismissed
  • Analyzing your arrest report for mistakes made by police
  • Speaking on your behalf with police
  • Consulting with experts for detailed analysis
  • Attending all your court appearances on your behalf
  • Negotiating a plea deal at your request if possible
  • Taking your case to trial, if necessary

Don't take your charges lightly. Take them seriously right from the start. Contact our law firm and find out how we can help you.

Marijuana Possession Florida's marijuana laws underwent a dramatic change in November 2016. That's when voters approved a constitutional amendment to legalize marijuana for medical purposes. The new rules regarding marijuana charges in Florida went into effect in January 2017. But even under the state's new marijuana laws, it is still against the law for the general public to possess marijuana. As a result, you could face the following penalties if you are convicted of marijuana possession in Florida:

Less than 20 grams

  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • 6-12 months driver's license suspension

20 grams to 25 pounds

  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • 1 year driver's license suspension

25 to 2,000 pounds

  • 3 to 15 years in prison, 3 years minimum
  • Up to $25,000 fine
  • 2 years driver's license suspension

Such penalties can be even more severe if you were arrested in possession of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, park, college or other specific location and authorities believe you were attempting to sell or deliver the drug. Sometimes, it can be your word against theirs. You may be able to negotiate a plea deal or enroll in a drug treatment program to avoid prison time. However, there's no guarantee you will automatically qualify for such a program. That's why it's critical that you have us on your side, standing up for your rights. Remember, a marijuana possession charge might seem minor. But if you're convicted or plead guilty to such a charge, you could face significantly more serious penalties if you're convicted of drug possession charge in the future. Simply contact our law firm and find out how we can help.

Return to Top

Cocaine Possession Florida has long had very strict laws when it comes to cocaine. That's because of the state's geographic location. Over the years, Florida has been a popular place for drug smugglers to bring drugs into the United States. Under Florida law, possession of cocaine is defined as having less than 28 grams of cocaine. If you possess more than 28 grams of cocaine, law enforcement officials classify that as drug trafficking. With that in mind, penalties for possession of up to 28 grams of cocaine in Florida include:

  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • 1 year driver's license revocation

Other circumstances can also affect the circumstances of your case. These include:

  • Previous drug convictions
  • If you were only supposed to be in possession of the drug temporarily
  • Legality of the search conducted by police

Many other factors can affect the outcome of your case. That's why it's critical that you meet with our law firm as soon as possible. We can examine the circumstances surrounding your arrest and determine the best approach for addressing your legal issues.

Return to Top

Methamphetamine Possession Often called meth, crystal meth, or speed, methamphetamine is a Schedule II controlled substance in Florida. Florida has very strict laws in terms of possession of methamphetamine. The state considers possessing less than 14 grams of methamphetamine a third-degree felony. As a result, someone convicted of this charge could face the following penalties:

  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Up to $5,000 fine

If you have more than 14 grams of methamphetamine, you will be charged as a drug trafficker. The penalties for drug trafficking are even more severe. That's why it's critical that you contact our law firm and schedule an appointment with attorney Mark Sieron. He can explain all the legal options available to you and help you decide the best course of action.

Return to Top

Heroin Possession Florida has long had very strict laws governing the possession of heroin, a Schedule I drug. That's why possession of even small amounts of heroin has such severe penalties. Possessing 4 grams or less of heroin is considered a 3rd degree felony in Florida. The penalties include:

  • Up to 5 years in person
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • 1 year driver's license suspension

Possession of more than 4 grams of heroin in Florida is classified as drug trafficking, which requires a minimum mandatory prison sentence. Being convicted of a felony can dramatically change your life forever. That's why it's important to contact our law firm as soon as possible. Attorney Mark Sieron and his talented legal team can review your case with you, then offer a strategic plan for addressing your specific legal needs. There's no time to waste if you have been charged with heroin possession. Critical legal deadlines often loom soon after someone has been charged. And if you miss those deadlines, you might miss out on your opportunity to have your charges dismissed or to negotiate a favorable plea deal.

Return to Top