Florida DUI Laws
DUI Defense Lawyer Explains Your Rights
Florida's DUI laws can seem very confusing, especially if you have never been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in the state. Even if you have been charged with DUI before, the laws that apply to 2nd and 3rd DUI offenses in Florida can be overwhelming and frightening.
Having represented persons charged with DUI for almost three decades, we understand how frustrated you might feel. That's why our legal team at Aguilar & Sieron created a DUI overview section on our website, as well as this page devoted to Florida's DUI laws. You can also find more information about the state's DUI laws in our DUI charges section.
Like any law in any state, Florida's DUI laws often change. That's why it's always smart to talk to a lawyer as soon as possible if you have been charged with drunk driving in Florida. Experienced DUI attorney Mark Sieron can explain all the legal options available to you. A former prosecutor in Florida's 4th Judicial Circuit, Mark knows how the legal system works and how to get results.
Florida DUI Laws
The State of Florida has many unique laws that apply to people suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol. Such Florida DUI laws include:
- DUI Tests - There are several different DUI tests in Florida intended to identify if someone was driving under the influence of alcohol. The three most common tests are:
- Previous DUI Convictions - Florida's laws regarding driving under the influence of alcohol vary mainly according to whether or not the driver has previously been convicted of DUI in Florida. The different laws include:
- Refusing to take a breathalyzer test - Learn more about the consequences of refusing to take a DUI test by visiting this page.
- Driving with a suspended driver's license - If your driver's license has been suspended due to a DUI arrest or conviction, you could be fined $500 and sentenced to 60 days in jail for your first offense. The penalties then increase to:
- 2nd offense - $1,000 fine and up to 1 year in jail (2nd offense)
- 3rd and subsequent offenses - $5,000 fine and up to 5 years in jail
- DUI School Requirements - Florida often requires drivers convicted of DUI in Florida with attending an approved DUI school and completing an alcohol abuse awareness program. The length of time drivers must attend such classes varies.
- DUI Hardship License - If you have been charged with DUI in Florida, you may be able to obtain a temporary, restricted driver's license. The most common type of restricted driver's license in Florida is known as a hardship license. This type of license often allows people to drive to and from work, church, school, doctor's appointments and similar locations.
- DUI Manslaughter - If you accidently killed someone in a drunk driving accident in Florida, you may be charged with DUI manslaughter, which is a very serious felony. If convicted, you could spend up to 15 years in jail.
We understand the seriousness of such charges. That's why we want to meet with you as soon as possible. Simply contact our law firm and schedule an appointment right now.
How We Can Help You
Knowledge and experience matter when it comes to DUI cases in Florida. That's why you need a lawyer who thoroughly understands how the legal system works in the state, fighting for your rights, every step of the way.
Attorney Mark Sieron has more than three decades of experience handling some of the most complex and high profile DUI cases in Clay County and Northeast Florida. There's no substitute for such experience, no substitute for success.
Our law firm knows how to analyze DUI arrests and determine the best way to approach such complex cases. Don't try to tackle your case on your own. Find out what we can do for you. Contact us and schedule your appointment right now. We would be honored to serve you.