License Suspension and Reinstatement Lawyer
If you’ve been arrested for DUI, we can help
After an arrest on DUI charges in Florida, you are likely to lose your license, at least temporarily. But you may not know that you have options and may be able to drive again sooner than you thought. The DUI attorneys at Aguilar & Sieron, P.A. have been helping people who have been arrested in Clay County for decades.
If you are arrested for DUI in Florida, you will be issued a citation and you will be facing an immediate administrative suspension of your driver’s license (the amount of time depends on the specific charges you are facing). This citation allows you to drive for 10 days following your arrest. But you then have a choice to make. You can choose to:
- Accept the suspension
- Challenge the suspension during a hearing.
If you accept the administrative suspension, you can immediate apply for a “hardship” – or restricted – license. One is an Employment Purpose Only (EPO) license that only authorizes you to drive to, during, and from work. The other is a Business Purpose Only (BPO) license that authorizes you to drive for work, education, church or medical purposes. The suspension becomes part of your permanent driving record.
You can choose to challenge the suspension during a hearing, which must be requested within 10 days of your arrest. If you are successful at your hearing – or if the arresting officer or breath test operator does not appear – the suspension will be overturned and you can get a duplicate license with no restrictions, which is good at least until the criminal portion of your case is decided.
If the suspension is upheld, you need to wait between one and three months before you can apply for a hardship license.
You may be facing a separate suspension of your license if you are convicted on a DUI charge. For example, if you are convicted of a first-offense DUI, your license will be suspended for six months. A second-offense DUI carries a license suspension of one year.
If you have previously been convicted of DUI, you are not eligible for a hardship license. Once the suspension is over, you can apply to have your license reinstated. Generally, this involves:
- Payment of administrative, reinstatement and license fees
- Proof of enrollment or completion of DUI school within 90 days
- Proof of adequate vehicle bodily injury insurance.
Many of us rely on our driver’s licenses to get to work, bring the kids to school, visit relatives, go food shopping, and many other tasks. Losing driving privileges can be very disruptive – and it can happen before you even go to trial. That’s why you need an experienced DUI attorney who will fight for your rights every step of the way.
If you’ve been arrested on a DUI charge, we encourage you to seek legal advice as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can explain the penalties you are facing and provide an aggressive defense. Our office can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you with your situation.