Types of DUI Charges
Our Attorneys Know What To Do
The consequences of a DUI charge can vary dramatically from one case to another. That's why it's critical that you talk to an experienced Florida DUI lawyer as soon as possible if you have been arrested and charged with DUI.
What might seem like a minor charge could have a serious impact for the rest of your life. We know because attorney Mark Sieron and his experienced legal team at Aguilar & Sieron have been working with people facing such serious charges for decades.
A former prosecutor in Florida's 4th Judicial Circuit, Mark Sieron has spent his legal career handling some of the toughest and most high-profile DUI cases in Clay County and throughout Northeast Florida. Attorney Sieron has earned the respect of his peers and he's eager to help you with your case.
Different Types of DUI Charges
People accused of driving under the influence can face very different charges depending on the circumstances of their arrest. Some of the most common DUI charges we deal with at our Florida law firm include:
Whatever type of DUI charge you're dealing with, don't wait to take legal action. Strict deadlines often exist. And if you miss them, you could miss out on opportunities related to your case. That's why we urge you to contact our law firm right now. We're available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Why You Need Us
You often only have one opportunity to challenge the legality of your DUI arrest. If you don't succeed in having your charges dismissed or overturned, your life could change dramatically. Fines, prison time and a revoked driver's license are just some of the consequences.
We take a comprehensive approach at our law firm. This includes:
- Carefully examining your arrest report
- Looking for any inconsistences or irregularities
- Consulting with experts
- Filing all necessary paperwork on your behalf
- Representing you in all courtroom appearances
- Filing an appeal if there's a conviction
We know what you're going through and we want to help. Simply contact our law firm and schedule your appointment right now. We would be honored to serve you and provide you with the legal expertise you need to get your life back on track.
Misdemeanor crimes are crimes in which the punishment involves less than 1 year of jail time. In terms of misdemeanor DUI crimes in Florida, these include:
- 1st DUI Conviction (1st degree misdemeanor)
- 2nd DUI Conviction (1st degree misdemeanor)
Misdemeanor DUI charges only apply to DUI arrests that involve non-fatal drunk driving accidents. That means your car accident resulted in minor injuries or property damage to the vehicle or vehicles.
A misdemeanor might sound like a minor infraction. But being convicted of a misdemeanor DUI can have a significant, negative impact on your life. If convicted, you could:
- Be fined hundreds or thousands of dollars
- Have your driver's license revoked
- Be imprisoned for several days or up to 1 year in certain circumstances
Felonies generally involve crimes punishable by more than 1 year in jail. In Florida, felony DUI charges include:
- 3rd DUI Conviction within 10 years (3rd degree felony) (Up to 5 years in prison)
- 4th or subsequent DUI Conviction within 10 years (3rd degree felony) (Up to 5 years in prison)
- DUI accident resulting in serious bodily harm (3rd degree felony) (Up to 5 years in prison)
- DUI Manslaughter - Accident resulting in the accidental death of another person (2nd degree felony) (Up to 15 years in prison)
- DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene - Hit-and-run car accident resulting in the accidental death of another person charged with DUI (1st degree felony) (Up to 30 years in prison)
- Vehicular Homicide - Fatal car accident due to criminal negligence or murderous operation of a vehicle (2nd degree felony) (Up to 15 years in prison)
- Vehicular Homicide /Leaving the Scene - Fatal accident in which the driver flees the scene of the accident and was intoxicated which results in the accidental death of another person (1st degree felony) (Up to 30 years in prison)
Being convicted of a felony is a very serious crime. That's why we're eager to meet with you. We understand the seriousness of these types of charges. And as your Florida felony DUI attorney, we will vigorously defend your rights.
Florida has very strict DUI laws for drivers under 21 years old. They can be charged with DUI if their Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) or Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is 0.02 percent or higher. That's only a fraction of the 0.08 percent legal limit for adults. All it takes is one 12-ounce beer for a 145-pound woman or two beers for a 230-pound man to be considered legally drunk if the driver is under 21 years old.
If you are under 21 years old and charged with DUI in Florida, you could face the following penalties:
1st Underage DUI Conviction
- $1,000 to $2,000 fine
- Driver's license suspended for 6 months
- Possible jail time if BAL was over 0.08 percent
2nd Underage DUI Conviction
- Driver's license suspended for 1 year
- $1,000 to $4,000 fine
- Up to 12 months in jail
Underage drunk drivers in Florida may also face other charges because consuming, possessing and purchasing alcohol are against the law for people under 21 years old. These are very serious charges. That's why it's important to take your case seriously right from the start. Contact our law firm right now and schedule an appointment with attorney Mark Sieron. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI, you will face very serious penalties if you are caught driving with a suspended driver's license. The charge for this offense in Florida is "Driving While License Suspended or Revoked."
This is a very serious charge with significant consequences. If you are convicted of Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Florida, you could face the following penalties:
1st offense (misdemeanor)
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to $500 fine
2nd offense (misdemeanor)
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 fine
3rd offense (felony)
- Up to 5 years in jail
- Up to $5,000 fine
If your driver's license has been suspended due to a DUI, options do exist which allow you to drive. You may be able to obtain a restricted driver's license or hardship driver's license which allows you to drive to work or school.
Other legal options may exist as well if you have been arrested for driving with a suspended driver's license. Contact our law firm right away. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Attorney Mark Sieron understands the seriousness of such cases and would be honored to handle your case.
Florida has very strict laws that apply to commercial drivers charged with driving under the influence. If you have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), you can be charged with DUI if your Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) is 0.04 percent or higher - half the legal limit for most drivers.
The consequences for a DUI in Florida if you have a CDL can be very serious. If you are convicted of DUI while operating a commercial motor vehicle, you could face the following penalties in Florida:
- 1st offense - CDL suspended for 1 year, all other penalties that apply to 1st DUI Offense.
- 2nd offense - CDL permanently revoked as well as all other penalties that apply to 2nd DUI Offense.
Your ability to make a living could be in jeopardy. If you don't have a CDL for a year or permanently lose your CDL, you cannot operate a tractor-trailer, bus or most large vehicles over 10,000 pounds.
You have too much at stake to try to tackle your DUI case on your own. Contact our law firm 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Attorney Mark Sieron can help you address your DUI arrest in a timely and effective manner. A former prosecutor, attorney Sieron understands how the legal system works and knows how to get results.